The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat Summary

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph  in Nazi Germany—from the author of Facing the Mountain.

Soon to be a major motion picture directed by George Clooney

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.



Book Reviews

Phillipa L

The Boys in the Boat5 star

One of the best books I have ever read. Stunning wordplay. I felt it keenly. Even my puppy was worried for me at the end, as she could sense the tension of the Olympic race and was worried for me and my tears. Just gorgeous!!55

Jmoras

Keeps you tuned with emotions5 star

Simple enough, beautifully written!55

😎🙃😂

Incredible5 star

This book is amazing. Low key I really hate Thula tho.55

mpfannes

Great book5 star

Little slow to start but great book about a time when people needed hope55

pjh6564

Boys in the boat5 star

Great. Just great55

Sherlock's Holmes

Great Story5 star

Fantastic, well written book55

Sparky 123!!!

Boys on the Boat5 star

An amazing read , history, grit and true hero’s55

jon_wayne22

Top 5 Favorites5 star

I loved this book!55

KathyNYC

Excellent... triumph of the spirit5 star

Not just the history of the win, but Fascinating history of the time. Loved it55

prakashpreeti

Love it5 star

Must read55



Other Books by Daniel James Brown

The Indifferent Stars Above

$12.99

The Indifferent Stars Above
4.5     362
Facing the Mountain

$12.99

Facing the Mountain
4.5     167


   Users Online